TeachingICT.Net

Education = Transforming + Informing

Pics: Presenting Network Proposals for the PCCentre

The candidates on this years BBC Apprentice show could learn a thing or two from our amazing students….Well done!

Team Light: Tevin, Geewai and Alistair (Left to Right)

This afternoon both teams presented their network proposals to Wendy Nodding and Pam Bryan from the Purley Cross Centre (Rachael was unable to be there). A small conference room in the Purley Baptist Church premises had been booked for the purpose and the students didn’t fail to impress. Team Archten went first and their presentation was thoroughly researched, comprehensive and very thoughtful. They considered all alternatives and justified their choices with well-reasoned arguments. Each member of the team made a meaningful contribution and their presentation was professional, confident and most importantly technically viable. You’ll notice some of the pictures below which show Team Archten’s presentation. Omar’s presentation was chosen for the final team proposal and his research (painstaking detail included) was exceptional. Alice impressed us all by considering the fine detail and taking the users (elderly people) into account. Rodard was able to explain some of the technical aspects of the proposal efficiently (such as the function of a server and common misconceptions about what it is) and Matthew had developed quite an interesting 3D sketchup model with two different alternative solutions for the interior design of the place. All in all an excellent presentation.

Team Archten: Matt, Omar, Alice and Rodard

Team Light was next and once again they were perfectly prepared both in terms of their actual presentation and the resources they had at hand to deliver an effective proposal. Alistair introduced the team and went through the different technical items, explaining each and the reasoning behind the proposed purchase. Tevin succinctly captured the benefits of open source software, in this case a Linux operating system and made a compelling case for the centre dropping the idea of a Windows Server! I think he made his point quite well as Wendy seemed convinced by the end! Geewai explained the budget (the team had used his budget for the final proposal) and it was impressive to see how comprehensively each possible alternative had been considered. He had three different proposals, sorted by expense, and the most reasonable was proposed as a final solution. He had also built in a number of features that took discounts and other factors into account. Team Light concluded their presentation with what I would say was the highlight of the afternoon – a 3d animated movie of a model Alistair had created of the actual Purley Cross Centre facility. This has been created from scratch (using photos taken on our last visit) and was designed to the exact cm in measurement! The model included the team’s proposed furniture, equipment and intricate detail that took absolutely everything from

Alistair's 3d model of the P.C.Centre facility. A professional couldn't do better.....

disabled access, fire-exits, projector mount and access space in to account. What’s more he took rendering and lighting control (from an ordinary 3d model) to the next level by including this in the 3d fly-by. The result was stunning not to mention professional and visually appealing. Video link here.

The thumbnails below show pictures of the afternoon including images of their proposed budgets and their animated 3d models. Wendy explained that another government funded company had set up a router with four laptops in the centre while we fund raised, and I have included the budget their company came up with as one of the thumbnails (black and white). It goes to show how comprehensive and well considered the budgets our students came up with were….

To say we are proud is a bit of an understatement. I can’t remember the last time I saw people (let alone young learners) make such a professional, well researched and excellent presentation. Huge congratulations to both teams. The staff at the PCCentre will analyse the presentations, 3D models and proposed budgets/suggested equipment and get back to us in the next few weeks.

In the meantime, students are raising money that will enable them to buy the equipment for this centre and make the networked suite a reality. Please donate and support their cause here http://www.justgiving.com/quizforcharity You can also contact us about purchasing a ticket which will go towards Children in Crisis as well as this worthy cause. eggheadscharityevent@gmail.com


October 14, 2010 - Posted by | Uncategorized

35 Comments »

  1. It’s nice to see this site is finally getting the attention that it deserves. Keep up the fantastic work.

    Comment by Umar Kothari | August 28, 2012 | Reply

  2. Appreciation to my father who stated to me concerning this website, this website is genuinely amazing.

    Comment by http://sheizips.bcz.com/ | December 15, 2012 | Reply

  3. My wife and i got delighted that Louis could finish up his reports because of the precious recommendations
    he got out of your web page. It’s not at all simplistic just to be releasing key points which usually people today might have been trying to sell. And we grasp we need you to give thanks to for that. Most of the illustrations you made, the straightforward blog menu, the relationships you can help to instill – it is everything fantastic, and it is leading our son and our family believe that the concept is satisfying, which is really vital. Thank you for the whole thing!

    Comment by ritron.com | December 27, 2012 | Reply

  4. What’s up, after reading this amazing article i am also cheerful to share my know-how here with friends.

    Comment by Becky | January 11, 2013 | Reply

  5. Hello! I know this is kinda off topic nevertheless I’d figured I’d ask.
    Would you be interested in exchanging links or maybe guest writing a blog
    post or vice-versa? My blog discusses a lot of the same topics as
    yours and I feel we could greatly benefit from
    each other. If you are interested feel free to send me an e-mail.
    I look forward to hearing from you! Fantastic
    blog by the way!

    Comment by Wedding Planning Tips | January 25, 2013 | Reply

  6. If some one desires to be updated with latest technologies
    then he must be pay a quick visit this site and be up to date all the time.

    Comment by heronridgenet.com | February 2, 2013 | Reply

  7. Thank you for the good writeup. It in fact was a amusement account it.
    Look advanced to more added agreeable from you! However,
    how can we communicate?

    Comment by Kristin | February 19, 2013 | Reply

  8. I truly love your website.. Great colors & theme.
    Did you make this website yourself? Please reply
    back as I’m planning to create my own site and would love to know where you got this from or exactly what the theme is named. Many thanks!

    Comment by san Diego metal shop | March 13, 2013 | Reply

  9. Howdy! This is kind of off topic but I need some help from an established blog.
    Is it difficult to set up your own blog? I’m not very techincal but I can figure things out pretty quick. I’m thinking about making my own but I’m not sure where to begin. Do you have any ideas or suggestions? Thanks

    Comment by green coffee bean extract | March 20, 2013 | Reply

  10. It’s awesome to pay a visit this website and reading the views of all friends regarding this post, while I am also keen of getting experience.

    Comment by Minecraft Account | April 4, 2013 | Reply

  11. Its not hard to recognize why this web site was first in the google results, superb content with
    useful information. Are you doing anything particular to advertise your site content or perhaps is it on the first page by
    natural means?

    Comment by Ruben | April 6, 2013 | Reply

  12. Though seeking spots are around every single part although the prices might not be less costly
    when compared to other sorts of Okazaki, japan. For you to acheive less expensive costs
    you need to head out for the scaled-down, far more rural local communities inside the chain.
    It might be your life frightening error not to fully familiarize a lot
    of the natural create of america you’re currently eaten inexpensive Malaysia routes.

    Comment by Wisata Ujung Kulon | April 8, 2013 | Reply

  13. Additionally, it resulted in skin irritation at the site that cleared after two days of treatment with over-the-counter antibiotic ointment.
    It has the ability to tilt and pivot for great close shave.
    It can also be utilized in the shower as nicely and fully eradicates scattering hair all
    over the bathroom.

    Comment by Deena | April 10, 2013 | Reply

  14. Many people celebrate 4th of July by going to carnivals, parades,
    barbecues and picnics and enjoying great fireworks at dusk.

    You only want to shell out for genuine delivers so be mindful if you are needed for any fee or membership to get access to these coupons.
    Every time I go into A.

    Comment by perfect gift for your boyfriend | April 10, 2013 | Reply

  15. Hi to every body, it’s my first go to see of this webpage; this weblog contains amazing and truly fine information in favor of readers.

    Comment by Angeles | April 12, 2013 | Reply

  16. Terrific work! That is the kind of info that should be
    shared across the net. Shame on the search engines for not positioning this publish
    upper! Come on over and discuss with my site .
    Thank you =)

    Comment by herpestreatmentsite.com | April 14, 2013 | Reply

  17. Magnificent beat ! I wish to apprentice while you amend your website, how could i subscribe for a blog site?
    The account helped me a acceptable deal. I had been a little bit acquainted of this your broadcast provided bright clear idea

    Comment by web developers Understand | April 18, 2013 | Reply

  18. Way cool! Some very valid points! I appreciate you writing this article and the rest of the site is really good.

    Comment by buy herpes remedy | April 19, 2013 | Reply

  19. Good day! I could have sworn I’ve been to this website before but after checking through some of the post I realized it’s new to me.
    Nonetheless, I’m definitely delighted I found it and I’ll be book-marking and
    checking back frequently!

    Comment by helpful golden retriever poodle information | April 25, 2013 | Reply

  20. Hello, i believe that i noticed you visited my website thus i got here
    to go back the prefer?.I am attempting to find things to improve my site!
    I guess its ok to make use of a few of your ideas!!

    Comment by Sonia | April 28, 2013 | Reply

  21. Nice post. I learn something totally new and challenging on websites I stumbleupon
    everyday. It’s always helpful to read articles from other authors and practice a little something from their web sites.

    Comment by Bettye | May 4, 2013 | Reply

  22. I really like what you guys tend to be up too. This type
    of clever work and reporting! Keep up the wonderful works guys I’ve included you guys to my own blogroll.

    Comment by Beyond Raspberry ketone Review | May 10, 2013 | Reply

  23. I tend not to leave many comments, but I looked at a few of the remarks on this
    page Pics: Presenting Network Proposals for the PCCentre TeachingICT.

    Net. I do have a couple of questions for you if it’s allright. Could it be only me or does it look as if like a few of the remarks appear like they are written by brain dead individuals? 😛 And, if you are posting at additional places, I would like to follow anything fresh you have to post. Could you list of every one of all your social community pages like your Facebook page, twitter feed, or linkedin profile?

    Comment by visit for golden retrievers puppies info | May 11, 2013 | Reply

  24. That is a really good tip especially to those fresh to the blogosphere.
    Brief but very accurate info… Thanks for sharing this one.
    A must read article!

    Comment by hack a twitter | May 12, 2013 | Reply

  25. Wonderful, what a webpage it is! This web site provides useful data to us,
    keep it up.

    Comment by HTTP://Homeearningstation.com | May 23, 2013 | Reply

  26. What a data of un-ambiguity and preserveness of precious familiarity on the topic of unexpected feelings.

    Comment by dragonvale cheat | May 25, 2013 | Reply

  27. Good day I am so thrilled I found your website, I really found
    you by mistake, while I was searching on Yahoo
    for something else, Regardless I am here now and would just like to say kudos for a incredible post and
    a all round entertaining blog (I also love the
    theme/design), I don’t have time to read it all at the
    minute but I have book-marked it and also added in your RSS feeds,
    so when I have time I will be back to read more, Please do keep up the fantastic jo.

    Comment by women in venice florida | June 10, 2013 | Reply

  28. I know this if off topic but I’m looking into starting my own weblog and was curious what all is required to get setup? I’m
    assuming having a blog like yours would cost a pretty penny?

    I’m not very web smart so I’m not 100% positive.
    Any tips or advice would be greatly appreciated. Many thanks

    Comment by get your ex back book | June 17, 2013 | Reply

  29. I know this if off topic but I’m looking into starting my own weblog and was wondering what all is required to get set up? I’m assuming
    having a blog like yours would cost a pretty penny?
    I’m not very web smart so I’m not 100% positive.
    Any recommendations or advice would be greatly appreciated.
    Thank you

    Comment by Johanna | June 19, 2013 | Reply

  30. I know this if off topic but I’m looking into starting my own weblog and was curious what all is required to get set up? I’m assuming having a blog like yours would
    cost a pretty penny? I’m not very internet savvy so I’m
    not 100% certain. Any suggestions or advice would be greatly appreciated.
    Many thanks

    Comment by Lost Password | June 26, 2013 | Reply

  31. Most saws can tilt right ot left to allow for precise and accurate cutting.
    There are a number of important areas to consider when making a purchase of an power
    tool, and table saws are no exception. With this reason, it
    is definitely more durable and its work capability is more efficient.

    Comment by table saw reviews | July 18, 2013 | Reply

  32. Excellent write-up. I definitely appreciate this website.
    Thanks!

    Comment by adrianmqoo.wordpress.com | July 21, 2013 | Reply

  33. Hello! This is reasonably off the subject matter however I require
    some the help of an established writer. Is it challenging to make a web blog?
    Now I am not astonishingly techincal although I
    can possibly figure materials out relatively quick. I happen to
    be fascinated with making my very own, yet I’m just unclear how to start. Could you have any ideas or suggestions? A great many thanks….! Do you use Twitter? I wish to follow you if it may be okay. I’ve
    fully enjoyed your web site and look forward to any future posts.

    Comment by innovative business ideas | August 8, 2013 | Reply

  34. For side effects, the great thing about male enhancement
    products is the fact that these will not pose you to risks of side effects because the ingredients
    used are safe, effective, and all natural. With a discount, male enhancement pills are normally sold at around $12.
    The patients must take regular dosage of medicines only as per
    the instructions given by doctors.

    Comment by Leonepigro.altervista.org | September 28, 2013 | Reply

  35. Ahaa, its nice dialogue on the topic of this post here at this web site, I have read all that, so now me also commenting at this place.

    Comment by you | April 21, 2014 | Reply


Leave a Reply

